IBM Research GMBH

IBM Research - Zurich (formerly known as Zurich Research Laboratory), with approximately 300 employees, is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the IBM Research division with headquarters at the T.J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, NY, USA. IBM Research - Zurich, which was established in 1956, represents the European branch of IBM Research.

At IBM Research - Zurich scientific and industrial research is conducted in five scientific and technical departments: Science and Technology, Systems, Storage, Computer Science, and Mathematical and Computational Sciences. Main research topics are nanotechnology, advanced server and storage technology, security, privacy, risk and compliance, computational biochemistry and materials science, chip cooling technologies, business optimization and transformation.

IBM Research - Zurich is world-renowned for its outstanding scientific achievements - most notably Nobel Prizes in Physics in 1986 and 1987 for the invention of the scanning tunneling microscope and the discovery of high-temperature superconductivity, respectively. Other key innovations include; the Trellis-coded modulation, which revolutionized data transmission over telephone lines; Token Ring, which became a standard for local area networks and a highly successful IBM product; the Secure Electronic Transaction (SET) standard used for highly secure payments; and Smartcard JavaCard™ technology.

IBM Research - Zurich is dedicated not only to fundamental research, but also to exploring and creating innovative industry and customer-oriented solutions based on several key areas including; future chip technology; nanotechnology; supercomputing; security and privacy; risk and compliance as well as business optimization and transformation. The Zurich laboratory is involved in more than 80 joint projects with universities throughout Europe, in research programs established by the European Union and the Swiss government, and in cooperation agreements with research institutes of industrial partners.